Truck mishaps are often large-scale accidents that cause huge financial losses and deaths in worst-case scenarios. As such, the Florida dot regulations for trucks have been brought into effect to promote safety. The semi truck rules and regulations have to do with the vehicle’s size and point of operation, among other factors. These are directives by the Office of Commercial Vehicle Enforcement.
Semi Truck Rules And Regulations Every Trucking Company Should Know!
Since all trucks are unique, there are exceptions to some rules. Regardless, truckers should acquire special permits to ensure their vehicles are excused from those regulations.
Semi Truck Size And Weight
The state has laws on the weight, width, length, and height as follows:
The gross vehicle weight of commercial vehicles allows for up to 80,000 pounds. If weight is associated with the number of axles, a standard axle can have 20,000lbs, while a tandem axle should have 34,000lbs. The heavier the truck, the longer it takes to come to a halt. The Florida weigh station rules state that all commercial vehicles should cross these stations regardless of their size. Crossing the scales is not a requirement for anyone renting the truck for personal use. Still, they can exit at the weigh stations.
It is limited to 102 inches. But for any truck with a width greater than 96 inches, they can’t enter public or certain roads that aren’t large enough to handle them. The truck width excludes the safety equipment or side mirrors.
Typically, the length limit for most trucks is 75 feet, while a truck tractor or a truck tractor-trailer combination’s limit is up to 65 feet. The longer the truck, the more difficult it is to maneuver.
Florida automobile conveyors can be at least 14 feet high. Similarly, commercial trucks must not exceed 13.5 feet. A truck that ignores these regulations can easily hit a bridge or obstruction.
- Driver hours
Controlling the heavy ride is not easy, even worse when a driver is tired. Their reflexes are slow, which poses a threat to other road users. As a result, the federal government brought ‘hours of service’ into the Florida dot regulations for trailers. It limits the periods people can transport goods in a semi-truck.
- The maximum driver hours are eleven, followed by a ten-hour rest.
- A driver should incorporate a half-hour sleeper berth after an eight-hour drive.
- No driver should drive for sixty or seventy hours straight for 7/8 days before taking at least a 34-hour break or more consecutive hours off.
- As a trucker, one can feel compelled to arrive faster at their destinations. However, these rules promote road safety and ensure you get home to your loved ones!
Worried about Florida intrastate trucking regulations?
These apply to trucks that remain within Florida state. They range from garbage disposal trucks, fire trucks, water trucks, school buses, cement trucks, and more. As such, intrastate trucks must follow state laws. For instance, if your intrastate vehicle is involved in an accident, the state laws will influence the legal claim. Since Florida is not a port of entry state, the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) issued a rule that vehicles traveling in the state must have the required permits. They should display a valid US DOT number or a Florida state registration number. Registration with FDOT is also compulsory. Additionally, following the authorization of some FMCSA rules, there is a limit on electronics use, licensing, and fuel safety. Lastly, the safety inspection can only be conducted by the police force.
Florida semi-truck rules and regulations ensure road safety throughout the state. They have directives on the truck sizes, driver work hours, and specific rules for intrastate trucks. While at it, your truck should be maintained for top performance and to prevent downtime. That can only be the works of qualified and experienced mechanics in the state.