For a vehicle to operate on Florida roads, it must possess a valid registration in Florida state. Vehicles with out-of-state registrations should be registered within ten days that the owner is employed, putting children in a public school, or establishing residency. The following consists of a complete registration requirement of how to register a semi-truck in Florida.
– A metal plate attached to the vehicle in the area designated – section 320.38, Florida Statutes.
– The Certificate of Registration possessed by the motor vehicle operator or always carried in the truck – section 320.0605, Florida Statutes.
– A validation decal needs to be affixed in the square of the upper right-hand corner of the Florida license plate.
The above serves as a complete set of evidence to pay your truck’s registration fees and taxes.
How to Register a Semi-Truck in Florida-Initial Registrations
As the truck owner, you must pay a registration fee of $225 if you do not have a record of commercial truck license plates registered in your name for a vehicle you owned previously. That is also true if you lack a license plate for your truck. You must visit a local service center in person at the titling time and submit the following for initial commercial Registration.
– Proof of identity is a requirement for all owners
– A proof of Florida Insurance
– A Certificate of Title that either has or lacks Registration which has been completed (it is also called HSMV form 82040)
If your truck weighs between 5,000 and 7,999 pounds, you should know about HVUT, which stands for Heavy Vehicle Use Tax. It is a federal highway tax imposed annually on heavy motor vehicles. Section 320.02(7), Florida Statutes requires motor carriers to prove payment or HVUT exemption on vehicles with weights of 55,000 pounds or more before the issue of a truck registration.
The following documents are acceptable for a provision of proof of payment for state registration commercial vehicle registration.
– IRS Form 2290, Schedule 1 that the IRS returns to the taxpayer, which is stamped received
– A copy of IRS Form 2290, proof of payment like a receipt of credit or debit card used for paying the tax
– A copy of or the original of the IRS Form 2290, Schedule 1 that is electrically filed. An electronic form shows a slightly visible watermark with the following wording, “Received XX / XX / XXXX.”
Florida Commercial Vehicle Registration Fee
Trucks with a net weight of up to 1,999 pounds – $14.50
Trucks with a net weight between 2000 and 3000 – $22.50
Trucks with a weight between 3001 to 5000 – $32.50
Get a complimentary registration for your truck, depending on its weight. Florida state’s requirement to register a semi-truck in Florida is different from other states’. Therefore, check out the requirements of how to register a semi-truck in Florida and ensure you are on the right side of the law.